The National Indoor Climbing Award Scheme (NICAS) is a UK wide scheme designed to promote climbing development and accredit individual achievement on artificial climbing structures. It can be used as a starting point for people wishing to take up climbing. It is open to all candidates aged 7 and upwards.There is no upper age limit, but the scheme is aimed at the child to young adult sector.

Aims of the scheme

  • to develop climbing movement skills and improve levels of ability.
  • to learn climbing rope-work and how to use equipment appropriately.
  • to develop risk assessment and risk management skills in the sport.
  • to work as a team, communicate with, and trust a climbing partner.
  • to provide a structure for development, motivation and improved performance.
  • to develop an understanding of the sport, it’s history and future challenges.
  • to provide a record of personal achievement.
  • to point the way to further disciplines and challenges in climbing beyond the scheme.

Redpoint is the original PRIMARY NICAS centre of the West Midlands which means we can deliver all 5 levels of the Nicas scheme from novice to expert climber. We also provide advice and training for other awarding centres as well as supplying log books and certificates.


Level 1

An entry level aimed at novices that recognises their ability to climb safely under supervision

Top Rope

Level 2

Aimed at promoting good practice in climbing and bouldering unsupervised on an artificial wall


Level 3

More advanced top rope and bouldering that focusing on technique and movement skills

Lead Climber

Level 4

A big step on to a level that concentrates on the skills required to both lead climb and belay a lead climber


Level 5

Improving performance, a deeper understanding of climbing systems and the wider world of climbing
Level 1-2 Logbook Level 3-5 Logbook Redpoint Binder Level 1-5 Badges
£5 £8 £3 £2.50